Quality and Safety Standards Committee (QSSC)


In September 2001, the work of Mechanical Standards Committee, the Industrial Safety Standards Committee and the Packaging Standards Committee were converged and undertaken by the General Engineering and Safety Standards Committee (GESSC) to support national initiatives in improving productivity, enhancing quality and promoting a safer and healthier workplace.

The GESSC was renamed as Quality and Safety Standards Committee (QSSC) in April 2017 following an expansion of the scope of the committee. QSSC focuses on the development and promotion of key standards for products, processes and practices related to workplace safety and health, and on overall systems, processes and capabilities in areas of quality management, risk, business continuity, compliance, anti bribery and social responsibility. The QSSC also supports the testing, inspection and certification industry through development of conformity assessment standards.

Structure of Quality & Safety Standards Committee

QSSC Oct 2022

The Scope of QSSC

  • Enabling Processes
  • Quality and Core Business Processes
  • Personal Safety and Health
  • Safety and Health Involving Equipment
  • Workplace Safety and Health

The Composition of QSSC

Capacity Name Representing
Chair Ms Jaime Lim Individual Capacity
Dy Chair Mr Seet Choh San Singapore Institution of Safety Officers (SISO)
Dy Chair Mr Ong Liong Chuan Individual Capacity
Advisor Mr Chan Yew Kwong Individual Capacity
Secretary Ms Dorothy Er Singapore Manufacturing Federation - Standards Development Organisation
Member Mr Steven Nah Association of Process Industry
Member Mr Derek Sim Association of Singapore Marine Industries
Member Mr Koh Yeong Kheng Association of Small and Medium and Enterprises
Member Mr Birch Sio Singapore Manufacturing Federation
Member Mr Sze Thiam Siong Singapore Manufacturing Federation – Testing, Inspection and Certification (TIC) Interest Group
Member Mr Danny Lien Singapore Productivity Association
Member Mr Lim Kee Huat Society of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries
Member Er. Ng Siew Wah The Institution of Engineers Singapore
Member Mr Steven Goh The National Trades Union Congress
Member Mr Lee Kay Chai The Singapore Contractors Association Ltd
Member Mr Winston Yew Workplace Safety and Health Council
Member Er. Goh Keng Cheong Housing and Development Board
Member Mr Francis Wee Terk Meng JTC Corporation
Member Mr Alvin Soong Kheng Boon Land Transport Authority
Member Mr Bernard Kwok Ministry of Manpower
Member Ms Delphine Fong Hung Ying Sport Singapore
Member A/Prof Chou Siaw Meng Nanyang Technological University
Member Mr Tan Poh Seng Singapore Polytechnic
Member Mr Srinivasan Ramabhadran Asia Pacific, Dupont Sustainable Solutions
Member Dr Tan Ban Hock Singapore General Hospital Pte Ltd
Member Mr Jonathan Wan  Individual capacity
Member Er. Ngiam Tong Yuen Individual capacity